Journey into A Different Road (A Individual Apprenticeship Patterns)

On this Software Development Capstone journey part of my assignment is to choose 10 Individual Apprenticeship Patterns out of 35 patterns among Chapters 2-6 from the book Apprenticeship Patterns: Guidance for the Aspiring Software Craftsmanby Dave Hoover and Adewale Oshineye. For my first individual Apprenticeship pattern I have chosen A different road. I will first summarize the pattern and then I will state my reaction of this pattern.

A Different Road summarized

After using Draw Your Own Map pattern and creating the map which you been following. You come to realized that the map you drew has led you away from the long road or the road your on is no longer the one for you. Even if you decide to take a detour and do something different from software development your software craftsmanship will always benefit you no matter what. Also, if you do leave and then decide to come back you will be bringing back with you new set of skills that will be beneficial because it will be a fresh new set of eyes with a new prospective. Although sometimes when you take a break some software organization might make you jump over a few hoops and ask you over 21 question seeking justification from you for leaving for a while and then deciding to come back.  The key is to no worry because you are a software craftsmen and everything you have learned will always be with you. An action you should take whenever you no longer want to be a software developer or you’re wondering what would/should you do? This pattern suggestion for you is to list the kind of jobs you would like to do and then find people who matches your jobs list and who also loves their job. Once you found that person you are to “Ask them what they love about it and compare that to the things you love about software development.”

My Reaction

This pattern helps you not worry and be confident that the road although different is not entirely different. It also, reassure you that its okay to take a different road. I agree with this idea. I found that this idea is not just interesting but also useful and thought-provoking. This pattern has definitely changed the way I think about my profession and the way I think I will work because it has made me less worry and more confident in knowing that I should not be afraid to go on different roads because as a software craftsman I will have a set of quality that will last a life time.

Thank you for your time. This has been YessyMer in the World Of Computer Science, until next time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment